

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

March 14, 2018, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 450 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Bruce Day, Dr. Bo

Hannaford, Dr. Mylo Miller, Phredd Evans and

Secretary of Education Dave Lopez

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: None

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Jennifer Gambrell, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey,

Lecrecia Schmidt and Jerry Shay

VISITORS: Melissa Michie, Oklahoma State Regents for

Higher Education

Call to Order: Secretary of Education Dave Lopez called the meeting to order at 1:30 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary of Education Dave Lopez asked for the roll call to be taken. Seven Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the January 17, 2018 Commission Meeting: Dr. Hannaford made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 17, 2018 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve	Mr. Evans:	approve
anatauri I aman			

Secretary Lopez: approve

Discussion and action on Appointment of Dr. Stephoni Case and Dr. Justin Olmstead to the Program Review Advisory Board (PRAB): Mr. Evans made a motion to approve the appointment of Dr. Stephoni Case and Dr. Justin Olmstead to the Program Review Advisory Board. Mr. Day seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve	Mr. Evans:	approve
Secretary Lopez:	approve		

Discussion and action on adoption of the PPAT as an Approved Performance Assessment:

Ms. Bixler made a motion to adopt the PPAT as an Approved Performance Assessment. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve	Mr. Evans:	approve
Secretary Lopez:	approve		

Discussion and action on adoption of passing standard for PPAT from thirty-eight to forty in a two year span: Mr. Evans made a motion to approve adoption of standard for PPAT from thirty-eight to forty in a two year span. Mr. Day seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Miller:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve	Mr. Evans:	approve
Secretary Lopez:	approve		

Quality and Accountability program updates included: National Board program, Education Leadership Oklahoma and 2017 School Survey.

New Business: None

Announcements and Informational Items: Secretary Lopez announced his resignation from Secretary of State, Education and Workforce Development, effective March 30, 2018.

The meeting adjourned at 2:59 P.M. The minutes of the March 14, 2018 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

	as submitted	with corrections
on June 2	20, 2018.	
Signed:		
M	Melissa McLawhorn Houston, Chairman	Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director